top of page

eleven basics for all of fall


They call them basics for a reason, and these 11 items are perfect for every closet for years to come. This is all you need to get you through the entire season, and you likely have many in your closet already!

Lately I have been loving mixing textures. The rough military shirt, distressed denim, leather, suede (on the boots), silk with lace, and chunky knit sweater all mixed together make a simple outfit look intentional. And honestly, all these textures make it look more expensive as well. I've linked some budget friendly options to prove that you can mix these textures without costing you too much.

Here's my fall basics and exactly how I plan to wear them.

1. Faux Leather Jacket

My jacket came from Target years ago (in the process of slowly saving for a real leather one) but the faux leather options are endless.

HERE (50% off , at least it is for now) // HERE (also half off right now) // HERE (with removable hood)

2. Denim Jacket

I've had the basic Levis trucker jacket for 8 years and it's great. I wear it so much I've accidentally sported the canadian tuxedo a few too many times. If I were to shop again, I'd go for a distressed version (or black!)! There are so many sales on that specific jacket you can probably just type "levis trucker jacket" into google and see in the shop tab what sales they have.

The original trucker jacket // This version is <$30 (I would size up) // The one I pictured is the ExBF version //

3. Military Shirt

It's no secret that I love my military shirt, in fact my instagram photos are mostly me in this shirt because that's what I wear all the time.

This one is <$35! // Heavier jacket version // This Levis one looks comfy! // Another <$30

4. Cozy Neutral Sweater

I think you really only need 3-4 comfy sweaters each winter because if you have great ones, then you can use them year after year.

This one in ivory is the one in the photos, it looks like a perfect staple // This one in "Beige Melange" I want to order right now! (<$20!) // This one in Ivory looks so comfy as well (<$60!)

5. White V-Neck Tee

I love having a pop of lace on a camisole or a bralette with a deep V Neck tee like this! Perfect for an evening out or comfy day on the couch.

Have this one // This one is $6 (but I would definitely size up!)

6. Graphic Tee

Love this Tiger tee // N Sync Anyone ? // another option // where I find them cheap in this post //

7. Silk and lace Camisole

This you'll wear every season, but this winter and fall layer it!

This one is so cute! (and <$30!) // This one is a STEAL (<$12!) // Splurge

8. Destroyed Denim

Most of my favs have come from Gap but I also haaaaate jeans shopping and so a lot of my jeans are still from high school. shhhh.

9. Leather Leggings

These moto leggings make you look a size smaller. They are amazing!!

Here's a link to the plain leather kind

ASOS has so many great affordable sweater dresses, but I'd size up if in doubt. My favorites:

HERE ($35!) // HERE <$50

11. Ankle Boots

Ankle boots show off your legs and make them look longer. I'm not going back to my knee length boots. I wear my brown and black pair every time I go out. I have last year's version of the Vince Camuto Tan booties, see them here.

bottom of page