top of page

biochemistry tips


I'll be honest, this was not my favorite class, but I worked hard to find the value in each lesson to stay motivated. I studied as long and hard as I could each day and prayed everything would be fine – and it was. Tips for this core are to never give up and when you feel burnt out, take a break!

I did not use a textbook regularly for this course, however I did buy Rapid Review and this was somewhat helpful for class, but extremely helpful reviewing for Step 1! Rapid Review Biochem was beneficial in determining the “important” parts of the material being covered. It helped especially when decided how much and what to memorize before the exams.

For those interested here’s what a typical day looked like:

8:00 a.m. wake up, make coffee, brush teeth, eat breakfast, head to office

8:30 a.m. start reviewing yesterday’s material or material I’m struggling with

9:30 a.m. head to campus (if I need to go to histology lab, otherwise stay home and listen to lecture online)

10:00 a.m.-Noon Histology (microscope slide material) quiz and sit through a lecture about histology

12:00 p.m. eat a shake and fruit, and workout

1:00 p.m. head home, have a snack, start listening to the morning’s lectures

5:00 p.m. snack, study, and think about what to cook for dinner

6:00 p.m. cook and eat dinner

6:30 p.m. study

8:30 p.m. shower, do flashcards, watch TV, read a book (If J's home – I’d stop studying and hang with him)

10:30 sleep

bottom of page