top of page

time saving study tips

I think I can speak for most med students when I say if there's one thing we've nearly perfected it's how to study, remember facts, and take an exam. Here are a few of my study tips that get me through each day. If you do this in undergrad you will likely save so much time that you won't know what to do with yourself because you will have freed up so many hours by putting quality study time in and not necessarily quantity. In med school there's always something to study so each person really decides how much time they want to study that day.

1. Form a Plan

Decide how much time you want to spend studying before you begin a study session and sketch out some goals you have for that time period. Be realistic with these goals. Most days I write way too much down, and set myself up for failure- don't do this. If you have a great planner (my planner here) you can write your notes in that.

2. Eliminate Distractions

If you thrive on constant distractions, then set a timer or know that if you devote 25-30 minutes of "good focused studying" then you can let yourself check Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram, News whatever. If you have a LOT to do, I would only let myself get distracted every hour not every 30 minutes. Make sure you limit yourself with the distractions too - decide if it will be 10 minutes every 30 minutes or 15 minutes every hour being distracted.

(Keep in mind the more you focus the more free time you will have later!)

Focused studying now saves you time in the end!

3. Location, Location, Location

Do not study in a place where your friends will walk by and you'll get distracted. You can talk to them after you put in your focused studying with that extra time you'll save by doing it right the first time. I prefer silence and keep my noise canceling headphones with me at all times. If I'm at school I find a study room or go to the library, otherwise I study in my office. I like to study in silence because that's how I take my exams - and so why not be used to focusing like that.

bottom of page