top of page

relaxing in medical school

Although I'm not in medical school anymore, I had this post idea for a long time and I'm finally sharing it. Fourth year allowed for much more rest and relaxation, but that doesn't mean it isn't an important part of first through third year too. First and second year I felt like I had no time to do anything for myself. I pushed myself to study almost every hour of every day and woke up before dawn and started the vicious cycle again. I delayed posting this for a few years because I kept thinking well i wasn't very good at relaxing in medical school, why would I write a post about it. That being said, I know how important it is to take time for yourself and so here's some strategies that worked for me.

favorite bath salts here

1. Give yourself something to look forward to.

I liked looking forward to date night with Jake on Friday nights when he'd get back from traveling for work. Knowing that I'd get to enjoy his company and great food and drinks motivated me that there was light at the end of the week. On a larger scale, we scheduled vacations after my boards exams and that was great motivation for me to work hard and then play hard later.

2. Exercise

Daily, if possible, even if it's something light like walking. I often felt like I didn't have time to exercise (even though it's the perfect study break), but even walking around the park for 20-30 minutes was such a good reset on my day. To save time I started home workouts with a mat and a TV program, which ended up being perfect for me because I didn't have to drive to the gym and waste time that way.

3. Get out of the house.

This was my biggest mistake. In order to save time I thought I took advantage of all I could to not leave the house. Becoming a shut-in was not good for my mental health and caused a lot of emotional stress. So get out of your house. Go out to eat. Go on a walk. Go to class some days. Go study in a coffee shop or a library.

4. Buy office supplies that make you happy.

I don't know if this is technically "relaxing" but having fancy pens, highlighters, and notebooks certainly made me feel better while I studied. You use them so much, may as well be as pleasant to look at and use as possible. This can even include a pretty photo to look at in your office, anything that can bring you joy while you are working.

5. Set a time to shut down.

Obviously, not every night will be the same end time, but I found setting a time at the end of the evening to shut down forced me to stay on track. Knowing that I would be able to stop at that time and then do whatever I wanted (sleep, watch tv, read) allowed me to be more productive, and it made relaxation time much more enjoyable.

6. Do Something Creative.

I love creating things. Whether it's editing photos from vacations (or for this blog), painting, or decorating cookies, I just love to be doing things that take my mind off of my stresses. I used this blog as my outlet and from the start it didn't matter who read it, because first and foremost this was for me. I have debated about stopping it but ended up always returning because I like looking back in time and seeing what I wrote, created, said, and it's a time capsule for me. Create something of your own: make a photo album, buy a camera, paint a photo, do a craft, bake, cook a new recipe, work on a house project, or even put together new outfits in your closet. It's good for the soul.

7. Take a day off.

Not always possible every week, but when it is, enjoy! There will always be something to study and you'll never have enough time to learn it all anyway so accept that and take a day off. Go see a friend, call a family member, and just go communicate with the outside world.

8. Snack

Since there isn't much time to break from studying, go buy good snacks and treat yourself. Prep them on Sunday before the week, or when you are grocery shopping to make sure you have something you love at all times! I loved having gummy bears and beef jerky in the house and when I wanted a break I knew there were always my favorite snacks in the house. Even just the little happiness from that, was enough to give me a little relaxation to conquer another afternoon.

What are your favorite tips for relaxing? I'd love to hear them!

bottom of page