top of page

apple spice scones


Have you ever tried making scones?

A couple of weeks ago I was craving a hot apple scone and wanted to try my hand at baking them. They were delicious and moderately healthy. Perfect to go alongside your morning coffee and it will make your kitchen smell amazing.

Consistency with baking things like this is not always easy, and I'm certain mine would not meet a professional's standards, but I do have a few tips.

Many people find scones a little too bland, I used this recipe and it tasted sweet, sweet like an apple muffin with a nice glaze on top. So head over there for the full ingredients and instructions.

Some tips along the way:

- Keep the cold ingredients in the fridge until the last second when you need them. I cut my butter into chunks and stuck it back into the fridge and measured my cream and put it back in the fridge while I prepared the other ingredients. You want the ingredients cold and little chunks of butter to still exist to create flaky pockets while they bake.

-You'll need a pastry cutter it'll say, but I used a fork since I didn't have one and it turned out ok. Don't overmix or it'll turn them tougher.

- Cut the apples into small chunks, just make sure they are all about the same size. I used one apple for a batch

- When you form the dough into a disc keeping it small and taller will make a more moist scone

bottom of page