top of page

first trimester update and must-haves

The first trimester flew by. Part of me feels shame for saying this, even though no matter the journey women shouldn't feel bad for sharing their story, but I didn't feel much different at all.

I didn't have nausea, vomiting, or aches/pain. I worked out and did high intensity interval training (T25) full speed like I had been doing up until 12 weeks. At that point I started modifying planks and burpees when a minor bump started popping through.

I did get bloated easier which sometimes caused discomfort, I ate a lot less because of this and could no longer finish my dinners or snacks. Very few cravings, but they've included Rotisserie chickens (daily, and good for sandwiches!) and grilled cheeses . Aversions to things I loved before: roasted broccoli and guacamole (it's killing Jake).

I was more emotional seeing patients in the hospital that I had to code or intubate, especially looking people in the eyes as they struggle to breathe before I put the breathing tubes in. I also sometimes took an extra nap in the afternoon.

My biggest symptom , my boobs went from a size small to a size large! We are talking so much discomfort in my normal garments that I could not even wear them for weeks because nothing fit me. I finally sucked it up and realized this symptom was sticking around and went shopping for a few new pieces.

We waited to tell as many people as possible, and so hardly anyone knew we were pregnant during the first trimester. My job has risky exposures to a developing embryo, one of those being a lot of radiation on some days. So I did tell some people I work with on a need-to-know basis to minimize this exposure. Well, and I was discovered looking at baby on the ultrasound one day by an attending and medical student , and they were then sworn to secrecy . Jake was allowed in with me at our first appointment and the twenty week appointment, but no other appointments due to COVID. He hasn't heard the little heart beat yet, but I promised him it was nothing short of amazing.

My favorite things that got me through this trimester:

Cozy blanket: I bought this blanket last year at the big Nordstrom sale and use it every single day. It's so cozy and I miss it so much even when I'm on call. Any of the Barefoot Dreams CozyChic line has this awesome softness to it.

Bio Oil: For the rapidly growing parts of you, as I mentioned above :). I ended up tweaking this stretch mark recipe for the second trimester after researching the more scientifically researched topical ingredients for stretch mark prevention. I'll do a separate post on this. This specific oil is also sold at any drug store.

Minimal bras: It took me the entire three months to find something that worked comfortably for me. For instance I ordered a round of size mediums, and then two weeks later had to change to larges. Frustrating, but these $13 ones, have been keeping me comfy once I finally found a good size. These True&Co kind are really nice too and also sold at Target, I'm not sure if it's the same exact bra, but it looks similar!

Athletic Brewing Co. IPAs : Don't want to drink alcohol but still love the taste of an IPA? This beer is the best nonalcoholic beer! Jake even has been drinking them because they taste so good! Unfortunately, eleven weeks into my pregnancy they are no longer allowed to ship to Nebraska due to some law. They can be found in a few Hyvee's though, so we are on the lookout.

Magic Night Cream: I used this before I was pregnant and it is the best cream to wake up with plump wrinkle free skin. It's intense hydration. I usually alternate this every other night with rose hip oil or a sleep face mask. I haven't found a hydrating cream as good as this one!

Eye Balm: This is good for anyone who needs a midday pick me up. I like to use the eye balm at work halfway through the day to help prevent wrinkles by getting some moisture around the area, but it also works as anti dark circles and decreases puffiness. The blue and the pink versions are the same except the pink has added rose hip oil - that's the one I picked! It's great for long 24hour call shifts!

bottom of page