top of page

my homemade stretch mark cream

*let me start this post by saying that this is not meant to be medical advice, you should always consult your personal physician for questions you have about your health.*

Science tells us that stretch marks are mostly genetic in nature. That hasn't stopped people for years trying to prevent or reduce the appearance of them. I was more than happy using an over the counter stretch mark cream, but surprisingly most of them contain a nut oil and since I'm allergic I was in a pickle.

I've devoured a lot of scientific research evaluating the efficacy of cream ingredients for stretch marks. (Due to the recent COVID19 confusion on what scientific articles are, I'm talking about actual scientists performing experiments and objectively reporting their results, not any other sort of articles online like this one I'm writing). The consensus of things that will help include avoiding excessive rapid weight gain and having good genetics. For prevention, Centella asiatica, hyaluronic acid, Vitamin E, and daily massage show promise. For treatments after you get the stretch marks, topical Vitamin A (avoided in pregnancy) and other dermatologist office treatments can help.

Centella asiatica in a pure affordable form is surprisingly hard to find. It's known as "tiger grass" because the tigers used to lie in it to heal their wounds. People that live in the area it's grown have been using it for skin concerns for centuries.

There are some creams on the market that contain both Centella asiatica and hyaluronic acid, however I couldn't find any that didn't also contain a nut oil in the ingredient list (Or one that wasn't >$50) . In addition, if the ingredient is listed at the bottom half of the ingredient list there's probably barely any of the ingredient in the product anyway.

I started using Bio-Oil twice a day during the last half of my first trimester. Bio Oil, like most stretch mark creams, contains vitamin E. Many of these studies I read recommended preparing and hydrating the skin 4-6 weeks with the ingredients I mentioned above to help nourish the skin before you grow quickly and stretch. I drop the oil in my hand and then add 1-2 drops of this inexpensive hyaluronic acid serum (also use on my face) to my hand and a little bit of this centella buffet serum (highly concentrated!).

I also use coconut oil and rose hip oil that I sometimes rotate out instead of the bio oil and keep in my purse. I have been taking oral collagen as well, but scientific data does not support that this will help. I just figured it wouldn't do harm.

*I also recently purchased this oil to rotate in as well. Bio Oil does have a minimal amount of vitamin A which according to them is a safe amount to use topically as it is so minimal....but I decided to switch anyway.

For other affordable skincare from affordable The Ordinary brand, check out this post which gives you a complete guide to shopping there!


bottom of page