top of page

diy textured artwork



My cousin Shelley made a tutorial for this DIY textured art and it inspired Mom and I to create our own pieces. I don't have a photo of Mom's but I'll share the two I made! We were impressed with how awesome these turned out. We used only discount canvases from Hobby Lobby, joint compound, sea sponges, and acrylic paints. I don't have our step by step process but you'll definitely want to go check out Shelley's tutorial she saved in her instagram profile @shelley_bates .



Here's some of the inspiration we used before spreading the joint compound and painting:



And here's our projects in action:





I ended up leaving one of my projects white (painted white though) after seeing a Studio Mcgee piece of art that resembled this! It has a nice spot in the guest bedroom. The other one I painted neutral colors and it hangs in our bedroom. It's the only decor we have in there right now!





bottom of page