top of page

fall closet additions

Last year I made a post about eleven basic clothing items to wear for all of fall. I looked through that post and stand by it, as I do wear versions of all of those combinations still. Adding a couple new pieces each year is always fun, and I picked out more staples to share that I know will be kept and reworn throughout the years. I have similar versions (or the same) of these items listed as well.

This sweater is perfect for a chilly fall day with shorts/capris, over leggings, or with jeans (of course). It's oversized and a relaxed fit, it feels like a blanket on and is so comfortable! It's been sold out a lot of places (if that tells you how popular it's been this year). I have the "pearl" color but they come in a variety of colors, the "tuscan earth" looks very fall-like!

This is more of a trendy piece specific for now. Wide leg pants and flares are having a moment right now. I couldn't jump on board that fast, but did settle with these super high - waisted mild flare jeans from Levi (still on sale). A different fringe style for the bottoms can be found here -- although I ordered the sale version and they delivered this fringe bottom to me so I'm not sure if there is a real difference. They can be worn with anything, I've worn them as my go to for weeks now.

These faux leather leggings have been some of my favorites the last three years. They are such high quality and make me look a size smaller than I am! (that being said, if you are inbetween sizes size up because they are tight!) Spanx killed it with these.

Tan sweaters are my favorite color to wear. This cozy and affordable one looks like the perfect color!

A cable knit sweater is a staple for every closet. I buy most of my nice sweaters through poshmark actually, but this one from ASOS looks like it is oversized but slimming, and would be a great pick!

This velvet braided headband is perfect for fall! I ordered it in "rust" (it's a designer dupe for Jennifer Behr's fancy headbands, I can't tell the difference!!) .

Ankle booties are my year round favorite shoe. Taking style lessons from Anine Bing, a classic pointed black pair like this or a studded version can go with every outfit. The version I linked is an affordable black leather option if you want to test out the theory without committing fully and investing yet in a forever pair.

Plaid Jacket/Shirt . My plaid jacket from last year is a favorite of mine for fall. This version comes in two colors bordeaux and tan cognac (only place I found this color available online right now) and I think either would be a great buy if you are looking for a nice plaid jacket for this season. They are constantly being sold out due to every "fashion instagrammer" wearing it, so you may need to google search the jacket as well if my links become sold out. The red one would be perfect for Husker events this season!

bottom of page